Skip to main content

Awards & Recognition Home

Spectrum Awards

For a quarter of a century, Wisconsin School Public Relations Association has conducted its annual Spectrum Awards competition. The Spectrum Awards program is a statewide program for Wisconsin public education professionals involved in the writing and design of print and electronic materials and development of special projects. Members are invited to showcase their achievements, be recognized for their creativity and efforts, and receive valuable feedback from professionals who judge the entries. WSPRA members are mailed the Spectrum Award Entry Form or the form is available on the website starting in May of each year. Deadline for submitting entries is in August, with the specific date to be determined each year. Awards are presented at the annual Fall Conference in November.

More about Spectrum Awards and how to enter.  

NEW!  Mary Pat Pfeil Communicator of the Year Award

Introduced at the 2022 Fall Conference, the Mary Pat Pfeil School Communicator of the Year Award will honor one outstanding individual from the school public relations profession in Wisconsin.  The first award will be given at the 2023 Fall Conference in Green Lake, WI. The WSPRA Board of Directors are currently developing the award criteria to align with the new NSPRA School Communicator of the Year Award (SCOY). The WSPRA award winner will automatically be submitted as our organization's nomination to the NSPRA SCOY award.

Mary Pat PfeilMary Pat Pfeil
November 18, 1947  -  February 4, 2022 
- Honorary Lifetime Member of WSPRA
- WSPRA President in 1992-93
- Recipient of the Past-President Award in 2002-23
- WSPRA Service Award, 2013
- Served on the NSPRA Board

Mary Pat served as the Director of Public Relations for the Wauwatosa School District. She garnered a national reputation for crisis and issues management. That experience eventually took to her to her alma mater, Marquette University where she spent the remainder of her career as the Senior Director of Communications.

More about the Communicator of the Year Award and how to enter. Deadline for nominations is October 8, 2023.

Tipler Founders’ Scholarship Award

George Tipler

In 2006-07 WSPRA instituted the George Tipler Founders’ Scholarship in honor of George Tipler, retired executive director of the Wisconsin Association of School Boards. The scholarship, a one-year membership to the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), recognizes Tipler’s contributions to the formation and growth of the Wisconsin School Public Relations Association.

Criteria for the scholarship are an individual who is currently a non-member of NSPRA, who has demonstrated a dedication to school public relations issues, and has exhibited a desire to grow professionally. The first recipient of the scholarship was selected by George Tipler.

George Tipler Nomination Form – deadline for nominations is October 8, 2023

Holtshopple Scholarship Award

Alan Holtshopple

To honor the memory of the late WSPRA board member, Allan Holtshopple, WSPRA offers a complimentary registration to WSPRA’s Annual Fall Conference in the form of the Holtshopple Scholarship.

Criteria for the scholarship are that the applicant must be a new WSPRA member within the last two years and that he/she is an individual who demonstrates community involvement. The board of directors reviews all applicants and selects the one best meeting the criteria. The scholarship is presented to the selected entrant at the fall conference.


Allan Holtshopple Scholarship Form – deadline for nominations is October 8, 2023

Friend of WSPRA Award

In promoting and modeling the value of strong partnerships, the WSPRA board of directors recognizes that it must take positive steps to show leadership in this area. The purpose of the Friend of WSPRA award is to recognize the individuals or organizations that have worked with WSPRA throughout the year and who are critical to the success of the WSPRA organization.

More about the Friend of WSPRA award and list of winners.

Honorary Lifetime Membership

As part of its membership structure, Wisconsin School Public Relations Association honors retired members for their contributions to WSPRA, public relations, and education in general. When appropriate, the board of directors selects an individual(s) for this honor and provides them with lifetime memberships in WSPRA. 

More about Honorary Lifetime Membership and list of members.

Past-President’s Award

Each year the WSPRA past-president selects one individual to honor. This individual is someone who has provided particular assistance to the president during his/her term of office. The individual is honored at the fall conference and receives a recognition gift.

More about the Past-President’s award and list of winners.